Charging App Improvements

Recently Chargepoint began a campaign to sell a home charger.  Along with the charger comes a smartphone application that has a few nice features that are not found in the Tesla app.

The system maintains a database with all of the charging data.

Every time a driver plugs their car in at home or away from home at a Chargepoint brand charger, the system collects the information about each charge. In the past I went through great pains to determine how much I charged my car in a given year, and how much solar power I actually produced.  I never installed a meter to determine these amounts with a high level of accuracy.

I do love the idea that an accumulative data set would be available through a web portal just for the car.  If Tesla implemented a database with charging data it could include both charging amounts at home, at superchargers, and any other 3rd party location.

The app warns you when your car is at home but not plugged in.

Although this feature is not critical, on at least one occasion probably every Tesla owner has inadvertently forgotten to plug in their car when arriving at home.  Perhaps the driver did not plug in the car because the battery level was sufficient or simply became they were distracted.  Regardless a simple notification would be nice.

A link to the Nest Thermostat.

I chose not to buy the Nest Thermostat system as I do not think it will not save me money heating my home;  I have radiant heating through the floors and each room is carefully programmed.  Today the only value of linking these two devices is that the Nest system can warn the Chargepoint system in case of an emergency.

Although I am an engineer, at times I do wonder at times how over automated our society is and how ridiculously dependent we can be on technology.   For example without GPS, I suspect some people would be quite lost.  However a incremental improvements to the smart phone apps are generally appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Charging App Improvements

    • Interesting and could be very useful for true variable rates. Here in California the rates change depending upon the time of the year, but are always the lowest after 10pm for me, and 11pm on some other rate schedules.

Leave a Reply

