East Coast Segment

After leaving the Minneapolis Tesla Service Center, I continued on my journey to the east coast.  The weather had improved from really cold and windy to a “California winter” of around 55 degrees with a few warm days in the low 60s.  The journey was pleasant enough with a few interesting stops along the road.

A More Efficient Means of Transport

A More Efficient Means of Transport

The supercharger route is almost exclusively on toll roads.  I am not much of a fan of interstate freeways and I dislike toll roads even more.  They are very monotonous with little if any scenery or places to explore.  The rest stops remind me of airport lounges.  A lot of busses stop at the Delaware Welcome Center and I realized even using an engine, these people were probably traveling in a more environmentally correct way than me.

EZPass for East Coast Toll Roads

EZPass for East Coast Toll Roads

The toll roads also charge you more money if you pay cash, and in Illinois they constantly remind you of the fact.  By the time I got to Delaware, I bought an EZPass as you can use it in many states.  I paid twenty five dollars for the actual device but I think it was an expense well worth it.  You give them a credit card to continue taking money out of your tolls, but you can close the account later and get any unspent credit refunded to you.

I also noticed that once the weather warmed up to 70 degrees albeit drizzly, my kWh/mile on flat freeways was significantly lower than I average at home on my local roads with ups and downs.  At home I average around 335 kWh/mile and I was easily seeing this drop in similar weather to around 300 kW/h or less with the flat roads at around the same speeds.

I have been range charging on this journey off and on because of some long extended detours.  I noticed that my range charge distance has actually increased to 250 miles from 247 miles.  Although the difference between these numbers is quite small, I have also added over 5,000 miles to the car.

The car made it to the Atlantic ocean and then onto New York city, where it got its first elevator ride in a garage.

Elevator Ride in Parking Garage in NYC

Elevator Ride in Parking Garage in NYC

4 thoughts on “East Coast Segment

  1. Hi.. .You keep using “kW/h” which means “KiloWatt per hour” which is nonsense in this context. What I think you mean to say is “kWh” which is “kiloWatt-hour” which is a unit of energy — In this case, the energy used per mile of travel. So, effectively, you should say “kWh/mi”.

    • Yes, I was quite tired when doing this post. I don’t like the energy units at all don’t know why they aren’t using Joules. We end up with this string of names. Thanks! I have edited the post.

    • The Delaware supercharger location is great. It is not far from the entrance and has anything a travel could need.

Leave a Reply

