Hawthorne Supercharger

Approaching from the East

Approaching from the East

On my road trip to Southern California, I stopped at the Hawthorne Supercharger.  Interestingly enough, I had to fight the navigation system a bit.  I have spent a reasonable amount of time in the Los Angeles area, so I am comfortable in ignoring navigation directions.

Driving north on I-110 (showing my Northern California roots – folks in LA probably call this the Harbor Freeway), the navigation wanted me to turn onto El Segundo Boulevard.  I figured I may as well continue on to I-105 (or the Century Freeway or the Glen Anderson Freeway), and approach SpaceX from the closer exit.  The navigation realized I was ignoring it but simply did not recognize that I could exit at Crenshaw Boulevard.   The navigation system actually wanted me to pass Crenshaw heading west to the next exit and loop back.  Having an innate sense of direction, I proceeded to exit there and arrive easily just east of the Supercharger.  The address is listed as 1 Rocket Road, but that entrance was closed and probably not the best way into the supercharger.

First Right - 9 to 5 Entrance

First Right – 9 to 5 Entrance

 

Once I was on Jack Northrop Boulevard, I took the first right at the 9 to 5 building.

 

 

Second Right - Official Entrance

Second Right – Official Entrance

 

 

 

The official supercharger page directions do tell you to drive to the second entrance where there is a small Tesla sandwich board.

 

 

 

 

Decorative Rocks

Decorative Rocks

 

The outside is the most decorated supercharger area.  The chargers have a solar panel canopy, a large supercharger sign, some plants and a water feature, and some decorative rocks in the pavement.  Unfortunately, these rocks do not seem very secure in their strips.

Supercharger Sign

Supercharger Sign

On the weekend afternoon before the holiday season, the supercharger was about 1/2 full.   One car I suspect were locals from LA and another car was from out of state.  One couple had a young child, who wanted to ride alone in the rear facing seat.

The facility itself has a design center with restrooms, free coffee and free wi-fi.  The indoors is open weekdays from 9am to 12am and weekends from 9am to 6pm.  The security guard was insistent that I not take any photos inside.  I suspect the reason was they have a display showing the statistics of the superchargers.  This data could indirectly indicate to competitors the sales distributions and sales trends. When I visited, the chart did indicate that the top 7 busiest superchargers were all in California:  Fremont, Hawthorne, Gilroy…etc… and one in Norway.  They also had a Model X prototype in the lobby but visitors were not allowed to touch it.

The security guard also indicated that you could get a free soda if you walked to the east over to the Space-X cafeteria area where they also have vending machines and a microwave.  I did not venture the 1/2 mile to the various food establishments as I just had lunch.

Space X Soda Machines

Space X Soda Machines

Space X Vending Machines

Space X Vending Machines

Leave a Reply

