Model S Config

I put in my order for my Model S on December 28, 2012.  For previously blogged about tax reasons I didn’t want my car delivered till 2013.

I decided on the following technical configuration.

85kWH Battery – I want to be able to take longer trips than I can in the Roadster and use the supercharger network.  I also think that with the extra battery power, perhaps I can have it last longer than 8 years.  In years 9 and 10 perhaps it is still at an acceptable charge acting like a 60kWH battery.

Non-performance – I have owned a Roadster for 3 1/2 years.  I often use the very fast acceleration to merge onto freeways, get into the carpool lane safely and pass people at lights.   But I rarely floor it.  I think 1 second or so less is fine for a savings of around $10K.

19″ Wheels – I really like the look of the turbine 21″ wheels but I after the years of Roadster ownership and the need to frequently replace the tires, I chose the 19″ wheels.

Panoramic Roof – I have never been a fan of convertibles but I have always liked sun roofs.  Both for the light, a little sunshine and often for an alternative way to get fresh air with less noise.

Tech Package – I debated this one for quite a while.  I live in a somewhat rural area and I wanted the brighter Xenon lights to see deer and rabbits at night, the homelink connection to the garage doors, and the navigation map that doesn’t depend upon an internet connection.

Sound Studio Package – I am a bit of an audiophile and really would like a nice system.  I also have over 5,000 songs in my Itunes library, so even 3,000 is going to require editing of my library.

Active Air Suspension – This option seemed like a easy one.  More efficiency at higher speeds while avoiding hitting the bottom on steep driveways in my hilly neighborhood.

In my next post, I will write about my aesthetic decisions.

Model S Configuration

Model S Configuration

One thought on “Model S Config

Leave a Reply

