Customer Service Review

I have dealt with Tesla for about three years now.  My experience with Tesla has been very mixed:  at times excellent, too often non-existent and at times very pushy.  I want Tesla and electric cars to succeed but I want to provide honest feedback.

Routine Service Rating

Routine Service Rating

When Tesla knows how to do something, have the right part and have the right personnel, their customer interaction has been excellent.  They have picked up and dropped off my car several times at my home — which is wonderful.  When I received my car, they went through almost every detail with me.  After a service they always impeccably wash my car.  All of the employees in these situations have been exceptional.  For routine or expected service, I would give them an A+.

Unfortunately, when Tesla does not have an answer to a question or a problem, many of my questions or requests seem to go into a black hole.  As I posted earlier, I have had a few technical issues with the charger and the car.  Just getting the home charger delivered and the replacement took a few months. In the three years in dealing with Tesla, I feel like I have had about ten different customer representative contacts.  Seems like by the time I get around to using the new contact info, the representative has changed again.  At one point, an employee said “call or email me anytime.”  Within a week or so, I did send an email with no response.  When questioned later I got the dubious answer “oh it must have got into my junk mail box.”   Even after that comment, my next email must have also went to his junk email box…

Non Routine Service Rating

Non Routine Service Rating

Because I was one of the very early customers, my car came with both of the mobile connectors.  I am still waiting for the 110Volt connector.  I have sent an email to my latest customer service repsentative a few times but I have not heard back in over two months.  I would like to potentially keep this connector in the trunk just in case I drive too far and could then use it to top the car off almost anywhere.  I am also still wondering what happened with the extended warranty and pre-paid battery replacement programs.

In non-routine situations, I would give Tesla service only a C. Outside of a couple of cases, most of these situations point to a lack of organization and a lack of simple communication.  If a part is not in stock, please acknowledge so and provide an estimate of the availability date and follow up with the customer.

Overall Customer Service Rating

Overall Customer Service Rating

When Tesla needs something from you, they can be inappropriately aggressive.  After a 2 ½ year wait for the car, one employee very rudely sent an email saying if I did not fax my driver’s license and car insurance cards within two days, my car would be delayed.  They had over two years to get this information from me, and expected me to turn on a dime for them?

My overall customer service score would have to be a B.   From what I have read on the Tesla Motors Club forum, my experiences are typical. I hope as Tesla matures as a company, they can institute procedures to track customer issues and stabilize their organization.

2 thoughts on “Customer Service Review

  1. I’d like to explain why I will not buy a Tesla even though I was ready to trade my 2014 Porsche for one.
    My girlfriend has a new Tesla in the Bellevue, WA area and a few weeks ago we went to the Tesla service center there. We were greeted by a lady named Maria. My girlfriend told her she had a defective key fob and Maria said that it looked abused. I then asked her to replace the key fob. After several rounds of back and forth Maria said I will make an exception this time and make a good will exchange. This made my girlfriend feel as if she was a beggar.

    Our next encounter came on M1y 19, 2015 when we drove to the same service center because the air conditioner was not cooling the car. After a lecture from Maria about the proper usage of the AC she proclaimed it was working fine. I then asked to try the AC in another Tesla and we did. The AC blew very strong. She claimed that was because the car was trying cool down after starting. It was very obvious to me that she did not know what she was talking about. Instead of addressing the problem with my girlfriend’s car not cooling down she went on and on about how she was right. I asked to see the Service Manager and she immediately said he was busy without even checking. I approached the other service advisor Maddy and she went on with excuses about how the AC was fine. But, neither of these two ladies could explain why the car would not cool. Now’ my girlfriend has a four day trip planned in the car and she has to drive it without an AC system that is cooling. In addition, She has to be put out to make another trip to the Tesla service.

    After driving my girlfriend’s car I fell in love with the Tesla and was getting ready to trade my Porsche for one but after being dealt with such horrible customer service I would never consider the Tesla until the Company cleans up the poor customer service experience I saw. Since when is it a customer service representative’s job to argue with a customer just so she “can be right!”, In my opinion, there is a very big lack of pre-hiring screening and job training from a Company that preaches about a great customer experience. And, the customer service skills portrayed by these two reminded me of the auto business from 30 years ago before a positive customer service index became so important.

    The image portrayed at this service center was so poor that I want to express my bad feelings to other members of the Porsche Club of America Northwest chapter and anyone else I come into contact with when Tesla is mentioned.

    I realize I am not the owner of the car in mention but I am a Sale Lost and who knows how many others my influence will have. The experience was a total loss for your Company and I am taking the time to write this narrative in the hopes that Tesla truly wants to facilitate a high customer service experience at this service center.
    Thank you,

    • I have the vast majority of Tesla people to be great. There have been some definite less than stellar experiences for me in the past too. I think this is true at all car companies (and even companies in general).

      On average, I am quite happy with Tesla service.

Leave a Reply

