Convertible – Not For Me

I tried it for a month but I just don’t like convertibles.  I think Tesla did a good job on their convertible but here is a list of the reasons why I prefer to drive with a hardtop on.

1.  Sun exposure.  Yes, the picture is not of the car with the top off but of a melanoma.  MelanomaI prefer to prevent skin cancer and wrinkles and not be constantly in the sun.

2.  Hats/visors/sun screen.  These sun blocks are all viable options but you may not always remember to put them on, have them with you or realize how long of a drive you were going to take.

3.  Inconsistent weather.  Here the weather is very nice half the year but cool in the mornings.  Also with so many local microclimates, the weather can drop twenty degrees in twenty miles. So you need an extra layer just in case?

4.  Exterior noises.  With the top off, you notice a lot more other car noises, other radios and other people.

5.  Hot seats.  In the warm weather the seats get hot in the sun even with lighter colored leather.

6.  Theft potential.  Small unimportant items lying around in a convertible are available for the taking.

7. Smoke.  In a convertible you really notice other driver’s cigarette smoke as they try to avoid smelling up their own car by dangling out their cigarette outside the window.

8.  Ambiance.  Although it is not noisy, it is not exactly quiet to drive down the freeway in a convertible and listen to music.

9.  Manual soft top.  If I could just push a button and put on a soft top, I might like the convertible a bit more.  With the roadster, you need to get out of the car and install the soft top.  The process takes a few minutes.

10.  No charm.  Although all of the above are correct, I guess I never saw any charm in being in a convertible.  If I want wind in my hair and the outdoor experience, which I adore, I much prefer to enjoy it on a hike or a bike ride.

So I put the hardtop back on.  I would love to hear from folks why they like convertibles to understand what I might be missing.

4 thoughts on “Convertible – Not For Me

  1. Hi,

    I could partially counter some of your first 9 disadvantages, but I’ll just grant them. (#9 is the one that bugs me the most). But for me, the disadvantages to a convertible are worth it because I feel very differently about #10.

    MPG issues aside (burning less petroleum is a mission for me) the Honda del Sol that I borrowed from my Dad for a few months was by far the most fun I’ve ever had in a car. And I REALLY miss the motorcycles I grew up with. I do plenty of hiking and biking, but still look forward to enjoying the top off most of the time when I’m driving, too. Even though my Roadster probably won’t get here until just before the rainy season starts…

    In short, you’re not missing anything practical. We just have different emotional responses to having the top off. If you enjoy the top on, great, I think the car looks good that way–and there are definitely, as you point out, some advantages.

  2. Pingback: Model S Config « Tesla Owner

  3. Pingback: Tesla Community Blogs | Tesla Owner

  4. Pingback: Tesla Community Blogs | Tesla Living

Leave a Reply

